Chain Wallet

Chain Wallet To Release Self-titled Debut Album

in New Music by

According to a press release that went out today, Chain Wallet have announced the band’s self-titled debut full-length album. With a release date of Friday, October 7, the band’s first release explores themes of betrayal, idleness and crushed dreams against the backdrop of an existential breakdown.

Listen to the new single “Faded Fight” HERE.

Frode Boris from the band explains the band’s ethos and sound: “We want to capture the acute distress of an afflicted character; his self-indulgent pity, gradual loss of touch with reality and his forlorn attempts on returning to normal life. The abrupt disintegration unveils interesting tensions between urgency and inertia. The album is about fragmented memories, unfulfilled ambitions and the quiet whisper of a stranger.”

“Beneath pervading synthesizers and glistening percussion lies a hint of melancholy buried within Chain Wallet’s expansive sound. Though they are sonically bright, the band contrasts their sound with lyrics laced in sorrow, balancing a nuanced dichotomy in what they create.” – NYLON

’…the band create a sense of urgency without ever really rushing towards anything…’’ – The 405

’[Chain Wallet] have the chiming guitars and slightly fey vocals, but with the added twist of a bit of C86 dreaminess’’ – Nordic Spotlight

Chain Wallet track listing:
01. Abroad
02. Muted Colours
03. Pale Memories
04. Shade
05. Driving
06. Faded Fight
07. Change Of Heart
08. Reminants Of A Night
09. Stuck In The Fall
10. Running In Dreams

Photo:  Synne Sofi Bønes

With a discography that includes albums on Digital Nations (a Steve Vai imprint), music critic Louis Raphael has always kept a pulse on the San Francisco music scene. After years as the San Francisco Music Examiner for and, he decided to start Music in SF® as a way to showcase what the San Francisco music scene really has to offer.