Royal Blood’s Second Album ‘How Did We Get So Dark?’ to be Released June 16

in Music News by

Since making big waves in the industry with their self-titled debut album, the band Royal Blood has been busy in the recording studio. It’s been announced today that their second album entitled How Did We Get So Dark? will be released June 16.

The ten tracks that are featured on How Did We Get So Dark? were written in instrumental form during sessions in Brighton, Los Angeles, and Nashville. Always trying to explore ways of stripping their enormous sound back to give it more space and impact, the inspiration for the lyrics came from events in vocalist/bassist Mike Kerr’s life since the band first found huge success.

In November 2016, Kerr and drummer Ben Thatcher, along with producer Jolyon Thomas, spent six weeks in a studio in Brussels that was decked out like a New York diner and featured a warehouse of antique gear. The new LP was completed after a final session in London with their debut album’s co-producer Tom Dalgety.

While the album finds refining their melodic side, there are other moments that fulfill their aim to create songs that will add new dimensions to their live sets. Their sound is also expanded with the inclusion of harmony vocals – something that they didn’t use on their debut.

Track List

1. How Did We Get So Dark?
2. Lights Out
3. I Only Lie When I Love You
4. She’s Creeping
5. Look Like You Know
6. Where Are You Now?
7. Don’t Tell
8. Hook, Line and Sinker
9. Hole In Your Heart
10. Sleep

An avid drummer whose discography includes albums on Digital Nations (a Steve Vai imprint), music critic Louis Raphael has always kept a pulse on the San Francisco music scene. After many years as the San Francisco Music Examiner for and, he decided to start Music in SF® as a way to showcase what the San Francisco music scene really has to offer.

Latest from Music News

Go to Top