Nikka Costa Premieres New Video for ‘Nothing Compares 2 U’ via Billboard

in New Music by

American soul singer Nikka Costa returns with a new album entitled Nikka & Strings, Underneath and in Between due out June 2. In anticipation of the release, she premiered the video for her rendition of her former mentor Prince’s “Nothing Compares 2 U,” that can be seen above.

“It’s so succinct and so well-written and people can relate to it so well,” Nikka told Billboard of the song. “We started playing it before Prince passed away. I was really excited for him to hear it, but unfortunately he passed before we recorded it – and then when recording day came, all of that emotion was attached to it, so it took it to another level.”

Nikka & Strings, Underneath and in Between
Nikka Costa’s new album “Nikka & Strings, Underneath and in Between”

The daughter of famed produced Don Costa, Nikka grew up with the sound of orchestras surrounding her. Her father arranged some of the best-known recordings by Frank Sinatra and Sammy Davis Jr., but her own career went in a far different direction.

She broke onto the scene with the soulful sound of her 2001 album Everybody’s Got There Something, featuring the hit single “Like A Feather”, which has since marked her place as the forerunner among the new breed of soul singers.

Track List:
01) Nothing Compares 2 U
02) Ain’t That Peculiar
03) Love To Love You Less
04) Come Rain or Come Shine
05) Cry To Me
06) Arms Around You
07) Headfirst
08) Lover You Should Have Come Over
09) Silver Tongue
10) Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Crying
11) Stormy Weather

With a discography that includes albums on Digital Nations (a Steve Vai imprint), music critic Louis Raphael has always kept a pulse on the San Francisco music scene. After years as the San Francisco Music Examiner for and, he decided to start Music in SF® as a way to showcase what the San Francisco music scene really has to offer.