Banks and Steelz

Banks & Steelz Release Lp’s Title Track, “Anything But Words”

in New Music by
Banks & Steelz -a musical collaboration between Wu-Tang Clan’s RZA and Interpol’s Paul Banks – have released the title track from their forthcoming album, “Anything But Words.”

Produced by Banks & Steelz and Ari Levine, the new song finds Paul Banks wailing alongside his guitar, “I believe that someone can be brave on this green Earth/ But maybe I’m wrong/ Aim for the sun/ Out in the freezing rain I will stay on the streets all day/ Until my cup runneth over”. On the inspiration behind the lyrics to the verses, RZA revealed to
The foundation of the lyrics was inspired by the energy of Malibu, and combined with the idea of myself, and the idea of man himself. I was inspired to write the second verse as if a man is reflecting upon his life…

But I think the line that really resonated is when I said that we give man the wisdom to be a carpenter, a gardener, a mother, a daughter, a father, a priest, king, or warrior. The point being made is that beyond the gender of it, man is a mother, man is a father, man is a warrior, man is a scholar…The ability of a person to choose any path he wants to labor is in him.

Anything But Words will be released on August 26th and features other appearances by Florence Welch of Florence + The Machine, Kool Keith, and Wu-Tang Clan’s Ghostface Killah, Method Man, and Masta Killa. They will kick off release week with a series of tour and festival dates through October. Tracklisting and dates below.
The two began working on music together in 2013 where the idea to collaborate with the Interpol front-man sparked after RZA’s manager asked him who he wanted to do an album with. “When I met Paul, I recognized the New York energy he has as a music artist,” RZA told Rolling Stone. “We got to know each other playing chess and vibing out in the studio. Our talents connected in a unique way and we started writing songs. The outcome was something distinctively different from my previous work, yet with another layer of cool.”
Anything But Words tracklisting:
  1. Giant
  2. Ana Electronic
  3. Sword In The Stone (Feat. Kool Keith)
  4. Speedway Sonora
  5. Wild Season (Feat. Florence Welch)
  6. Anything but Words
  7. Conceal
  8. Love and War (Feat. Ghostface Killah)
  9. Can’t Hardly Feel
  10. One by One
  11. Gonna Make It
  12. Point of View (Feat. Method Man and Masta Killa)
Tour dates:
Wed 8/24          Seattle, WA                   The Crocodile
Thu 8/25            Portland, OR                 Doug Fir Lounge
Sat 8/27            San Francisco, CA        The Independent
Sun 8/28           Los Angeles, CA           FYF Festival
Wed 8/31          Washington DC             9:30 Club
Thu 9/1             New York, NY               Bowery Ballroom
Sat 9/3              Cambridge, MA            The Sinclair
Sun 9/4             Philadelphia, PA            Made In America Festival
Tue 9/6             Toronto, Ontario            The Mod Club Theatre
Thu 9/8             Chicago, IL                   Lincoln Hall
Fri 9/23             Las Vegas, NV              Life Is Beautiful Festival
Tue 9/27            Boulder, CO                  Fox Theatre
Fri 9/30             Austin, TX                     Austin City Limits
Fri 10/7             Austin, TX                     Austin City Limits
Sun 10/9           Phoenix, AZ                  The Crescent Ballroom

Anything But Words is available now for pre-order at iTunes, Google, and Amazon .
“Anything But Words” is available for streaming/purchase at
For tickets and to stay connected with Banks & Steelz, visit
Photo Credit: Atiba Jefferson

With a discography that includes albums on Digital Nations (a Steve Vai imprint), music critic Louis Raphael has always kept a pulse on the San Francisco music scene. After years as the San Francisco Music Examiner for and, he decided to start Music in SF® as a way to showcase what the San Francisco music scene really has to offer.